Some Favorite CS Lewis Quotes


“I think we delight to praise what we enjoy because the praise not merely expresses but completes the enjoyment; it is its appointed consummation.”
–Reflections on the Psalms

“The Psalmists in telling everyone to praise God are doing what all men do when they speak of what they care about.”
–Reflections on the Psalms

“Nothing is yet in its true form.”
–Till We Have Faces

“If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.”
–Mere Christianity

“All joy…emphasizes our pilgrim status; always reminds, beckons, awakens desire. Our best havings are wantings.”
–from an unknown letter

“Until you have given up your self to Him you will not have a real self…”
–Mere Christianity

“Poetry too is a little incarnation, giving body to what had been before invisible and inaudible.”
–Reflections on the Psalms

“‘Nothing, not even what is lowest and most bestial, will not be raised again if it submits to death.'”
–The Great Divorce

4 thoughts on “Some Favorite CS Lewis Quotes

  1. Hi,

    I was looking around for a good CS Lewis quote (as silly as it is.. for my aim away message hahaha) and I really appreciate some you have posted. I hadn’t heard the one from Mere Christianity.. and honestly I realize more and more every day how true it is. The older I get the more I learn life is a paradox just like that quote. Something that sounds so easy to get but you spend your entire life trying to accomplish it. Anyway.. thanks so much for the quote.
    – Carrie

  2. Here is my favorite CS Lewis quote.

    “No man knows how bad he is till he has tried very hard to be good. A silly idea is current that good people do not know what temptation means. This is an obvious lie. Only those who try to resist temptation know how strong it is. After all, you find out the strength of the German army by fighting against it, not by giving in. You find out the strength of a wind by trying to walk against it, not by lying down. A man who gives in to temptation after five minutes simply does not know what it would have been like an hour later. That is why bad people, in one sense, know very little about badness — they have lived a sheltered life by always giving in. We never find out the strength of the evil impulse inside us until we try to fight it: and Christ, because He was the only man who never yielded to temptation, is also the only man who knows to the full what temptation means — the only complete realist.”

    Also from Mere Christianity.

  3. I love this quote! .. It ties in perfectly with Christ’s words recorded by one of His prophets of old, when He said ” And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them
    Behold, I will show unto the Gentiles their weakness, and I will show unto them that faith, hope and charity bringeth unto me—the fountain of all righteousness.

    (Book of Mormon | Ether 12:27 – 28)

Leave a comment