awash…

O Christ, the ocean of our forgiveness,

allow me to wash off in Thee

the dirt I am clothed in,

so that I may become resplendent in the raiment of Thy holy light.

May I be covered with the cloud of Thy hidden glory,

full of secret mysteries.

May the things which divert me

from gazing upon Thy beauty

not be visible to me.

May wonder at Thy glory

captivate me continually,

may my mind become unable to set in motion

wordly impulses.

May nothing ever separate me from Thy love,

but rather may that desire

which is in Thee,

to behold Thy countenance

harrow me continually.

-st john the elder

Leave a Reply

