st paul…

When I was Saul, and sat among the cloaks,

My eyes were stones, I saw no sight of heaven,

Open to take the spirit of the twisting Stephen.

When I was Saul, and sat among the rocks,

I locked my eyes, and made my brain my tomb,

Sealed with what boulders rolled across my reason!

When I was Saul and walked upon the blazing desert

My road was quiet as a trap.

I feared what word would split high noon with light

And lock my life, and try to drive me mad:

And thus I saw the Voice that struck me dead.

Tie up my breath, and wind me in white sheets of

anguish,

And lay me in my three days’ sepulcher

Until I find my Easter in a vision.

Oh Christ! Give me back my life, go, cross Damascus,

Find my Ananias in that other room:

Command him, as you do, in this my dream;

He knows my locks, and owns my ransom,

Waits for Your word to take his keys and come.

mr merton

One thought on “st paul…

Leave a Reply

